A Very Small Book Haul

Screen Shot 2016-07-17 at 11.01.49 AM.png

I have a book buying problem and I’ve been pretty open about that, but lately I’ve been a lot better about buying books. I don’t know what happened, but recently I’ve been more drawn to my shelves than the bookstore. That’s not to say that I haven’t bought any books, because I certainly have, but I used to buy 10-15 books a month and so far I’ve only bought four books! I wanted to share those books with you guys today because I’m insanely excited for all four of them.

Bitch Planet, Vol. 1. I honestly don’t know that much about this series, but I’ve heard it’s feminist af so I can’t wait to get to this.

Descender, Vol. 1. I LOVE Jeff Lemire’s Sweet Tooth series and I’ve been wanting to read more of his comics and this one is a sci-fi series that centers around a young robot who’s trying to survive when robots and androids have been outlawed. I’M ALL IN.

American Girls. All I really knew about the book was that the main character, Anna, researches the Manson Girls which sounds so intriguing, but then I heard Monica (from shemightbemonica) talk about how emotional and real this book is and I was sold. I have a love/hate relationship with YA contemporaries and this sounds so different from a lot of books in the genre.

The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness. I’ve had my eye on this book since I read Between the World and Me last year, but I finally picked it up because of everything that’s been going on in the US lately. I guess I wouldn’t say that I’m excited to read this, but it feels like something that I need to read.

Have you guys read any of these? If you have, let me know what you thought and if you haven’t, let me know if you’re interested in them!

Leave a Reply

