The Princess Saves Herself In This One (Review)

Goodreads Synopsis:

ah, life-
the thing
that happens
to us
while we’re off
somewhere else
blowing on
dandelions
& wishing
ourselves into
the pages of
our favorite
fairy tales.”

a poetry collection divided into four different parts: the princess, the damsel, the queen, & you. the princess, the damsel, & the queen piece together the life of the author in three stages, while you serves as a note to the reader & all of humankind. explores life & all of its love, loss, grief, healing, empowerment, & inspirations.

My thoughts: 

This book was exceptional.

This collection of poems was so personal and heart-wrenching that I had to put it down momentarily and collect myself on multiple occasions. Even though it was so personal, it still managed to be very relatable and engaging. I found myself flying through the poems because I NEEDED to know the princess’s story; I NEEDED to know she was okay or at least that she was going to be.

I’ve already read this collection twice and I foresee myself revisiting it’s pages over and over again. Like all collections, there were standouts, but none of them were anything less than excellent.

Leave a Reply

