Recent Reads

Lately I’ve noticed that a lot of people have started talking more about their recent reads than doing monthly wrap ups and I love the idea so much that I’m going to do it as well! Like a lot of those people have pointed out, it’s hard to remember everything you want to say about a book at the end of the month when you read the book at the beginning of the month!

25330541Grace & Style: The Art of Pretending You Have It by Grace Helbig. I was really excited for this book because I love Grace. I really liked how this book felt more personal than her first book did. She talked about her eating disorder and how it affected her relationship with clothing and how that developed into her own personal style. As for the actual style aspect of the book, I thought it was a little inconsistent. There were some parts that I really loved, but others fell flat for me (the sweatpants diaries, the advice column responses).★★½ out of five stars.

13498623

The Call of the Wild by Jack London. I get why it’s a classic, I really do. It’s a story about loyalty, adaptation, and animal instincts, but man, I really didn’t like it. It was probably due to the fact that I really don’t handle violence towards animals very well; regardless of whether or not that violence is caused by humans or other animals. I’m going to keep this on my shelf because I have the beautiful penguin classics edition (as pictured), but I won’t pick it up again.★

17617024

Manuscript Found in Accra by Paulo Coelho. While this book is marketed as a novel, it really doesn’t read like one; it reads more like a sermon. I’m not a religious person, so there are some things in this book that don’t apply to me, but there is some incredible insight offered in this book. Coelho touches on courage, loyalty, anxiety, solitude, and loss. It’s definitely not for everyone, but I feel like I read it at the right time. ★★★

Leave a Reply

