#TBRtakedown & Bout of Books Wrap-Up

That’s it! I’m calling it quits for these readathons. I know that I still have five hours left, but I’m happy with how much I read. Plus, I don’t want to push myself into a reading slump so early in the year, so let’s talk about what I read this week. (Links lead to the Goodreads page.)

Books completed: 6
Pages read: 1,293
#TBRtakedown challenges completed: 6 (book from your most recent book haul, book on your TBR Shelf over a year, book outside your comfort zone, a sequel in a series, a FIRE color book, a non-novel item)

Rat Queens, Vol. 2: The Far Reaching Tentacles of N’rygoth
I was excited to read this because I really loved the first volume, but something about this volume just felt off. I can’t place my finger on what that is, but it was lacking the excitement and fun that the first one had. A little disappointing, but still worth a read. ★★★☆☆

Ms. Marvel, Vol. 4: Last Days
This is definitely my favorite ongoing comic series as of now. I love the diversity of the characters, how important family is to Kamala, and how every volume addresses issues that are relevant to today. Honestly, perfection. ★★★★★

Death Note: Black Edition, Vol. 5
This volume was so much fun! The last two volumes were a little dull and rushed in my opinion, so I was pleasantly surprised with the direction that this volume went. It’s so fun to see the back in forth between the two sides and I’m excited for the concluding volume. ★★★★★

Wytches, Vol. 1
This volume was definitely out of my comfort zone, so I wasn’t really sure what to expect and I walked away feeling very meh towards it. It wasn’t bad by any means, but the story felt very disjointed to me because it moved from past to present and from person to person without any type of fluidity. I was however a big fan of the artwork, but I’m not sure if I’ll continue on with this series. ★★★☆☆

The Chosen One
This book was really interesting because it’s not a subject that I’ve ever read about and while I was sympathetic towards the characters I don’t think it had anything to do with the writing and everything to do with the subject matter. I would say it was decent, but it could have used another 30 pages to wrap things up. ★★★☆☆

Humans of New York: Stories
I don’t know what to say about HONY just that I love it so much. I’m so happy that HONY developed into a storytelling platform because it’s so incredibly inspiring and eye-opening. ★★★★★

Did you guys participate in these readathons? How’d it go??

Leave a Reply

