2015 End of the Year Book Survey

2015-end-of-year-book-survey-1024x984-900x865

Since 2016 is almost upon us, it’s only fitting that I reflect on the books that I read this past year. I was planning on just rambling about some of my favorite books that I read this past year, but Jamie over at The Perpetual Page-Turner does an annual end of the year book survey that I love! (She also created the lovely graphic above.) Since I didn’t have this blog last year, I left out the “blogging/bookish life” section of the survey. Let’s get to it.

stats

Screen Shot 2016-01-02 at 11.09.24 AM
Number of Re-Reads: 0
Genre You Read The Most From: YA Contemporary

laurels_0008_Vector-Smart-Object

best

1. Best Book You Read In 2015?
Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates. This book is INCREDIBLE. Beautifully written, moving, and heartbreaking. A must-read, seriously.

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. I adore Maggie’s writing and all of the characters are so fleshed out and unique – such an atmospheric book.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?
Lumberjanes Volume 1 by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis, Brooke A. Allen and Maarta Laiho. This volume just came off way too childish to me.

 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?
Storm Front by Jim Butcher. I didn’t really have expectations going into this book, because I had heard mixed reviews, but I ended up loving it. I really enjoyed Harry’s narration and the entire tone of the book.

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?
Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas.

 5. Best series you started in 2015? Best Sequel of 2015? Best Series Ender of 2015?
Best series and sequel: The Raven Boys, The Dream Thieves and Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater, for reasons mentioned above.

As for best series ender, Locke and Key Volume 6 by Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodríguez was phenomenal. It concluded the series so well and there were definitely tears!

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2015?
Andrew Smith! He’s a wonderful writer and his books are so quirky.

20604350 5.43.01 PM
7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?
Not My Father’s Son by Alan Cumming. This book is absolutely heartbreaking, yet so hopeful. I listened to the audiobook that Alan Cumming narrates and it definitely added to the reading experience.

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?
Beautiful Bastard by Christina Lauren. This isn’t the type of book that I typically read, but a good friend of mine recommended it to me. After I started, I couldn’t put it down. I devoured this book.

 9. Book You Read In 2015 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?
Illustrated Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling and Jim Kay. Jim Kay’s illustrations are such a beautiful addition to an already beautiful story. I’ll probably reread it before the illustrated Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets comes out!

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2015?

trc

All of the covers from The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater. Stunning.

11. Most memorable character of 2015?
A.J. Fikry from The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin. There’s just something about this book that moved me and I still think about A.J. Fikry from time to time.

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2015?
The Opposite of Loneliness by Marina Keegan. It’s unfortunate that we won’t see more writing from Marina Keegan, because she really had a way with words.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2015?
Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates. GO READ IT.

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2015 to finally read?
Definitely The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater. I really loved the Wolves of Mercy Falls series when I read it, so I have no excuse for not reading it sooner.

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2015?
“We aren’t the things we collect, acquire, read. We are, for as long as we are here, only love. The things we loved. The people we loved. And these, I think these really do live on”
― Gabrielle Zevin, The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2015?

Screen Shot 2016-01-02 at 11.03.33 AM.png

 17. Book That Shocked You The Most
The Wicked + The Divine Vol 2. by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Matt Wilson, and Clayton Cowles. THAT ENDING THOUGH.

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)
Emily and Frank from Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson. All of their interactions are just so cute!

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year
Ryan Dean West and the rugby team from Winger by Andrew Smith. There were so many ups and downs amongst the team, but I was so invested.

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2015 From An Author You’ve Read Previously
This is getting a little repetitive, but The Raven Cycle.


21. Best Book You Read In 2015 that You Read Based SOLELY On 25821581A Recommendation From
Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:
Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates. So I wasn’t personally recommended this book, but multiple authors recommended it at NerdCon and they’re the reason I picked it up.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2015?
Richard Campbell Gansey III from The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater. NO SHAME.

23. Best 2015 debut you read?
Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. This book had so much hype in 2015 and it deserves every bit of it.

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?
George R.R. Martin establishes an incredible and vivid world in A Game of Thrones.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli was so much FUN. The voice was on point.

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2015?
Locke and Key Volume 6 and Winger.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?
Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson. I usually don’t reach for books like this, but I’m so glad that I did. The prose is beautiful and her experiences are vivid.

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?
I’m looking at you Alan Cumming. STILL NOT OVER IT.

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2015?
The Locke and Key series as a whole is so unique. There are so many twists and intricate details, UGH. This whole series is just so well thought out.

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?
Soundless by Richelle Mead. I really don’t like this book and a lot of the writing comes off as lazy and cliché. What’s probably the most upsetting is that I didn’t really want to read it in the first place, but I got it in my Owlcrate.

laurels_0008_Vector-Smart-Object

looking ahead

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2015 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2016?
I’m ashamed to say it, but I didn’t read Queen of Shadows this year even though I preordered it and everything. Actually, I got about 20% of the way through it and put it down because of the way a character drastically changed.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2016 (non-debut)?
Morgan Matson’s new book! I don’t think there’s a title yet…

3. 2016 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?
I have no idea! I usually don’t hear that much about books so far in advance, but I’m always open to recommendations.

 4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2016?
The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater. I’m going to be emotionally traumatized. I can feel it.

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2016?
I want to read more broadly. I got better at this towards the end of the year, but I know I can do much better.

6. A 2016 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:
I don’t think I’ve read any 2016 releases yet! Oops.

 

Author: bookgeeksam

I'm a Harry Potter enthusiast, reader of books, avid nap taker, and lover of all things breakfast.

Leave a Reply

